All About Hinduism

Creation Song – Rig Veda

I  have been wondering how to sequence my posts going forward, so that they make sense. I figured out this morning, The Beginning  would be a good place to start.

So, while I pen down the story of Creation for the children, here is an extraordinarily beautiful hymn of Creation from the Rig Veda, for the grown ups. Riga Veda is the oldest of the Vedas and this hymn is at least 5000 years old !

 Song of Creation – Rig Veda

(translated by V.V Raman, University of Rochester)

Not even nothing existed then

No air yet, nor a heaven.

Who encased and kept it where?

Was water in the darkness there?

Neither deathlessness nor decay

No, nor the rhythm of night and day:

The self-existent, with breath sans air:

That, and that alone was there.

Darkness was in darkness found

Like light-less water all around.

One emerged, with nothing on

It was from heat that this was born.

Into it, Desire, its way did find:

The primordial seed born of mind.

Sages know deep in the heart:

What exists is kin to what does not.

Across the void the cord was thrown,

The place of every thing was known.

Seed-sowers and powers now came by,

Impulse below and force on high.

Who really knows, and who can swear,

How creation came, when or where!

Even gods came after creation’s day,

Who really knows, who can truly say

When and how did creation start?

Did He do it? Or did He not?

Only He, up there, knows, maybe;

Or perhaps, not even He.

I just love the open ended-ness of the poem. The courage to question everything, even God and the acceptance of ‘not-knowing’. Who said we have to have all the answers? Perhaps the joy is in looking for them.

             I still remember the day I stumbled upon this , 12 years ago, in a deserted public library in the US!  It was so amazing, I wanted to share with someone , anyone this gem that I had found. But no one else ever visited that library so I had to wait till I got home to email my friends. Since then I have read many translations of this hymn but this one remains my favourite.

I can safely say, it was this poem that first made me sit up and take notice of  the Hindu philosophy. Twelve years on I continue to be fascinated.

(PS: Take a look at a video my friend Anjali has posted in the comments. It is the chanting of this very song in its original Sanskrit form and a Hindi translation)

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Creation Song – Rig Veda

  1. Anjali on said:

    You may want to check the title song from Bharat Ek Khoj:) Funny your post reminded me of that one- sure enough it turned out to be the same creation song you refer to in your article!

    • Anjali, thank you so much. This is fab. I had no idea this was the title song. Wish I could find a box set of Bharat Ek Khoj 🙂 It was so well made.

  2. Smita Deodhar on said:

    “even Gods came after Creation’s day”
    How profound! Thanks for this, Anu

    • Isn’t it just? It was that what struck me when I first read it .And the open ended-ness of the entire song. In fact I think I shall add that into the post.Thanks for reading !

  3. Sobana Sundar on said:

    It’s amazing that the questions of today were asked thousands of years back! And in such a beautiful way too.

    • Yes, Sobana , I just love it. I like the courage it has to question everything. Nothing is sacrosanct . Not the gods nor the ‘Creator’ .

Leave a Reply

